Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

OpenAI - verified

Codex pricing and usage limits

OpenAI's own pages list 9 plans for Codex: Free, Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500, Business, Enterprise & Edu and API Key. The Codex pricing page, developers.openai.com/codex/pricing, redirects to learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing. ChatGPT Pro comes as Pro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200) and Pro 500 ($500), each billed monthly. Pro 200 is available for new subscriptions again, and new subscriptions not eligible for grandfathering get a lower usage allowance; eligible customers keep the previous allowance through October 29, 2026 while their Pro 200 subscription is active. The Codex pricing page dates GPT-5.5's retirement from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in to October 14, 2026, at noon PDT (19:00 UTC). Prices below are in OpenAI's own terms and usage limits are quoted as worded, read on October 18, 2026.

Last verified - plans change often. Not a ranking.

Read from learn.chatgpt.com, help.openai.com, chatgpt.com. Pricing page - Codex tool profile - Codex CLI reference - Every coding tool's plans

What changed

  • Pro in three tiersCodex

    The Codex pricing page, developers.openai.com/codex/pricing, redirects to learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing. ChatGPT Pro comes as Pro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200) and Pro 500 ($500), each billed monthly. Pro 200 is available for new subscriptions again, and new subscriptions not eligible for grandfathering get a lower usage allowance; eligible customers keep the previous allowance through October 29, 2026 while their Pro 200 subscription is active.

    “Pro 100 $100 Not included”
    help.openai.com
    “Pro 200 $200 Not included”
    help.openai.com
    “Pro 500 $500 Included”
    help.openai.com
    “Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available.”
    help.openai.com
    “ChatGPT Pro now offers Pro 500, a new $500/month plan that includes GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast and GPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast. Pro 200 is also available for new subscriptions again. New subscriptions that aren't eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance.”
    help.openai.com
    “Eligible customers can use the previous included allowance through October 29, 2026 while their Pro 200 subscription is active.”
    help.openai.com
  • GPT-5.5 retired from CodexCodex

    The Codex pricing page dates GPT-5.5's retirement from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in to October 14, 2026, at noon PDT (19:00 UTC).

    “GPT-5.5 retires from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in on October 14, 2026, at noon PDT (19:00 UTC).”
    learn.chatgpt.com

Other status changes

Every change OpenAI's pages describe, with the date as the page gives it and its own quote.

  • 2026-08-31

    GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.4 mini removed from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in

    “As of August 31, 2026, GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.4 mini are no longer available in Codex when you sign in with your ChatGPT account.”
    help.openai.com
  • 2026-11-21

    GPT-5.6 Sol promotional credit pricing

    “GPT-5.6 Sol's promotional pricing is available at least through November 21, 2026.”
    learn.chatgpt.com

Codex plans at a glance

Each price in OpenAI's own words, in the order the vendor lists them, with annual billing apart. The cards below carry every value and quote.

Every plan, every quote

inferred from page layout marks a value whose plan comes from where it sits on the page, not from words in its quote:

  • Page layout. The plan this value belongs to comes from the page layout, the pricing card or section the quoted text sits in; the quote itself does not name the plan.
  • Table layout. The plan, row or column this value belongs to comes from the page's table layout; the quote is the table row, not a sentence naming the plan.

Free

Price

$0per month

“Free Explore Codex capabilities on quick coding tasks. $0/month”
learn.chatgpt.com

Included usage

Limited Codex access

“LimitedPlan: Free, Feature: Codex, Limited”
chatgpt.com

Models

GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rolloutinferred from page layout

“GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout”
learn.chatgpt.com

Not included

Codex Cloud not included

“Codex Cloud is available to eligible Plus, all Pro tiers, Business, Enterprise, Healthcare, and Education accounts, subject to rollout and workspace settings. It is not included with Free or Go.”
help.openai.com

Go

Price

$8per month

“Go Use Codex for lightweight coding tasks. $8/month”
learn.chatgpt.com

Included usage

Limited Codex access

“LimitedPlan: Go, Feature: Codex, Limited”
chatgpt.com

Models

GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout

“Go Use Codex for lightweight coding tasks. $8/month Get Go GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout”
learn.chatgpt.com

Plus

Price

$20per month

“Plus Power a few focused coding sessions each week. $20/month”
learn.chatgpt.com

Included usage

GPT-6.1 Sol: 15-160 local messages per five-hour period (estimate)inferred from page layout

Inferred from page layout: The Plus and Standard Business columns come from the table layout; the unit, local messages per five-hour period, and the word estimate come from the sentence introducing the table
“Model Plus Standard Business GPT-6 Astra 5-45 5-45 GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160 15-160”
learn.chatgpt.com

GPT-6 Luna: 350-3,000 local messages per five-hour period (estimate)inferred from page layout

Inferred from page layout: The Plus and Standard Business columns come from the table layout; the unit, local messages per five-hour period, and the word estimate come from the sentence introducing the table
“GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000 350-3,000”
learn.chatgpt.com

Limit windows

Estimated local messages per five-hour period (Plus and Standard Business); Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit

“The estimates below show local messages per five-hour period for Plus and Standard Business. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Weekly limits may also apply

“Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Past the limit

Can purchase additional credits

“ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Models

GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Lunainferred from page layout

“GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna”
learn.chatgpt.com

Pro 100

Monthly

$100per monthbilled monthlyinferred from page layout

“Pro 100 $100 Not included”
help.openai.com

Limit windows

Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit

“Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Weekly limits may also apply

“Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Past the limit

Can purchase additional credits

“ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Billing

Billed monthly; no annual billing

“Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available.”
help.openai.com

Pro 200

Monthly

$200per monthbilled monthlyinferred from page layout

“Pro 200 $200 Not included”
help.openai.com

Included usage

More usage than Pro 100

“Pro 200 includes more usage than Pro 100.”
help.openai.com

Limit windows

Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit

“Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Weekly limits may also apply

“Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Billing

Billed monthly; no annual billing

“Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available.”
help.openai.com

Pro 500

Monthly

$500per monthbilled monthlyinferred from page layout

“Pro 500 $500 Included”
help.openai.com

Included usage

Highest included usage of the three Pro plans

“Pro 500 offers the highest included usage of the three plans.”
help.openai.com

Limit windows

Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit

“Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Weekly limits may also apply

“Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Models

Ultrafast only on Pro 500 among Pro plans; for GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol it uses included usage at 8x the Standard rate, then credits at 6x the Standard credit rate

“Among Pro plans, Ultrafast is available only on Pro 500. You can select it in the model picker. For GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol, it uses your plan's included usage first at 8× the Standard rate for the selected model, then draws from your credit balance at 6× the Standard credit rate after that allowance is used.”
help.openai.com

Billing

Billed monthly; no annual billing

“Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available.”
help.openai.com

Business

Monthly

$25per user per monthbilled monthlyinferred from page layout

“2+ users, billed annually. $25 per user per month when billed monthly.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Annual

$20per user / monthbilled annually

“Business Bring Codex into your startup or growing business. $20/ user / month”
learn.chatgpt.com

Included usage

Standard Business: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160 local messages per five-hour period (estimate)inferred from page layout

Inferred from page layout: The Plus and Standard Business columns come from the table layout; the unit, local messages per five-hour period, and the word estimate come from the sentence introducing the table
“Model Plus Standard Business GPT-6 Astra 5-45 5-45 GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160 15-160”
learn.chatgpt.com

Limit windows

Estimated local messages per five-hour period (Plus and Standard Business); Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit

“The estimates below show local messages per five-hour period for Plus and Standard Business. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Weekly limits may also apply

“Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Past the limit

Flexible-pricing workspaces can buy workspace credits

“Business, Edu, and Enterprise plans with flexible pricing can purchase additional workspace credits to continue working.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Seats

2+ users, billed annuallyinferred from page layout

“2+ users, billed annually.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Enterprise & Edu

Price

Not statedNot stated on the pricing page (contact sales)

Included usage

Without flexible pricing: same per-seat limits as Plus for most features

“Enterprise and Edu plans without flexible pricing have the same per-seat usage limits as Plus for most features.”
learn.chatgpt.com

With flexible pricing: no fixed rate limits

“Enterprise/Edu users with flexible pricing have no fixed rate limits.”
learn.chatgpt.com

API Key

Price

API pricingusage-basedinferred from page layout

“Pay for Codex usage based on API pricing”
learn.chatgpt.com

Included usage

Codex in the CLI, SDK, or IDE extension; no cloud-based featuresinferred from page layout

“Codex in the CLI, SDK, or IDE extension No cloud-based features (GitHub code review, Slack, etc.)”
learn.chatgpt.com

Models

Model availability follows the API models available to your key

“Model availability follows the API models available to your key”
learn.chatgpt.com

Free tier, own keys and enterprise terms

Free tier

Codex included on Free and Go; usage limits vary by plan

“Codex is included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go. Usage limits vary by plan.”
help.openai.com
Bring your own key

yes - API Key option

“API Key Great for automation in shared environments like CI.”
learn.chatgpt.com
Enterprise and team notes

Token-based Enterprise agreements billed in USD

“Codex usage on token-based Enterprise agreements is billed in US dollars (USD), instead of deducted from credits.”
help.openai.com
Other notes

ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage

“ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage. ChatGPT Work usage inside ChatGPT uses the same pricing, credits, and usage limits as Codex.”
learn.chatgpt.com

Fast mode uses included limits at 2.5xinferred from page layout

“Speed mode Included subscription usage Purchased credits and Enterprise pay-as-you-go usage Fast 2.5x 2x”
learn.chatgpt.com

FAQ

How much does Codex cost?

In OpenAI's own terms: Free: $0 per month. Go: $8 per month. Plus: $20 per month. Pro 100: $100 per month (billed monthly). Pro 200: $200 per month (billed monthly). Pro 500: $500 per month (billed monthly). Business: $25 per user per month (billed monthly); or $20 per user / month (billed annually). Enterprise & Edu: price not stated. API Key: API pricing (usage-based). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

What are Codex's usage limits?

As worded on OpenAI's pages: Plus: Estimated local messages per five-hour period (Plus and Standard Business); Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; Plus: Weekly limits may also apply; Pro 100: Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; Pro 100: Weekly limits may also apply; Pro 200: Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; Pro 200: Weekly limits may also apply; Pro 500: Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; Pro 500: Weekly limits may also apply; Business: Estimated local messages per five-hour period (Plus and Standard Business); Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; Business: Weekly limits may also apply.

Can I use my own API key with Codex?

yes - API Key option. Per OpenAI: "API Key Great for automation in shared environments like CI."

Does Codex have a free plan?

Codex included on Free and Go; usage limits vary by plan. Per OpenAI: "Codex is included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go. Usage limits vary by plan."

What changed at Codex (Pro in three tiers)?

The Codex pricing page, developers.openai.com/codex/pricing, redirects to learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing. ChatGPT Pro comes as Pro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200) and Pro 500 ($500), each billed monthly. Pro 200 is available for new subscriptions again, and new subscriptions not eligible for grandfathering get a lower usage allowance; eligible customers keep the previous allowance through October 29, 2026 while their Pro 200 subscription is active.

What changed at Codex (GPT-5.5 retired from Codex)?

The Codex pricing page dates GPT-5.5's retirement from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in to October 14, 2026, at noon PDT (19:00 UTC).

Sources

Last verified - plans change often. Read from each vendor's own pricing, help and docs pages; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a ranking. Prices are shown in the vendor's own terms, so check the linked source before you buy.

Newsletter

Know when a coding plan changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.