Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

GitHub - verified

GitHub Copilot pricing and usage limits

GitHub's own pages list 7 plans for GitHub Copilot: Copilot Free, Copilot Student, Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max, Copilot Business and Copilot Enterprise. GitHub Copilot counts usage in GitHub AI Credits, drawn from your budget at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD, and its plans table lists Copilot Max at $100 USD per month. Premium request billing remains only for Copilot Pro and Pro+ subscribers on an existing annual plan who stayed on legacy billing after June 1, 2026. Prices below are in GitHub's own terms and usage limits are quoted as worded, read on October 18, 2026.

Last verified - plans change often. Not a ranking.

Read from github.com, docs.github.com. Pricing page - GitHub Copilot tool profile - Copilot CLI reference - Every coding tool's plans

What changed

  • Billed in GitHub AI CreditsGitHub Copilot

    GitHub Copilot counts usage in GitHub AI Credits, drawn from your budget at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD, and its plans table lists Copilot Max at $100 USD per month. Premium request billing remains only for Copilot Pro and Pro+ subscribers on an existing annual plan who stayed on legacy billing after June 1, 2026.

    “GitHub AI Credits draw down your budget at a fixed rate: 1 AI credits = $0.01 USD, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 AI credits.”
    docs.github.com
    “Copilot Max $100 USD per month Base: 10,000 Priority access to premium models”
    docs.github.com
    “This article only applies to Copilot Pro and Copilot Pro+ subscribers on an existing annual plan who remained on legacy premium request-based billing after June 1, 2026.”
    docs.github.com

Other status changes

Every change GitHub's pages describe, with the date as the page gives it and its own quote.

  • No date given

    Legacy allowances: Pro 300 and Pro+ 1500 premium requests per monthinferred from page layout

    “Copilot Pro Copilot Pro+ Pricing $10 USD per month (free for some users) $39 USD per month Premium requests 300 per month 1500 per month”
    docs.github.com
  • 2026-06-01

    Legacy: code review multiplier of 13 from June 1, 2026

    “Starting June 1, 2026, Copilot code review will have a model multiplier of 13.”
    docs.github.com

GitHub Copilot plans at a glance

Each price in GitHub's own words, in the order the vendor lists them, with annual billing apart. The cards below carry every value and quote.

Every plan, every quote

inferred from page layout marks a value whose plan comes from where it sits on the page, not from words in its quote:

  • Table layout. The plan, row or column this value belongs to comes from the page's table layout; the quote is the table row, not a sentence naming the plan.

Copilot Free

Price

Freeinferred from page layout

“Copilot Free Free An allowance of GitHub AI Credits Limited Auto model selection only”
docs.github.com

Included usage

2000 completions per month

“Limited to 2000 completions per month on Copilot Free.”
docs.github.com

Models

Auto model selection onlyinferred from page layout

“Copilot Free Free An allowance of GitHub AI Credits Limited Auto model selection only”
docs.github.com

Copilot Student

Price

Freeinferred from page layout

“Copilot Student Free An allowance of GitHub AI Credits Excludes third-party agents Auto model selection only”
docs.github.com

Included usage

Unlimited code completions

“Copilot Free includes 2000 code completions per month and Copilot Student includes unlimited code completions.”
docs.github.com

Models

Auto model selection onlyinferred from page layout

“Copilot Student Free An allowance of GitHub AI Credits Excludes third-party agents Auto model selection only”
docs.github.com

Copilot Pro

Price

$10 USDper month

“Copilot Pro $10 USD per month (free for some users) Base: 1,000 A selection of models”
docs.github.com

Included usage

1,000 base + 500 flex = 1,500 AI credits per monthinferred from page layout

“Plan Price per month Base credits Flex allotment Total monthly AI credits Copilot Pro $10 USD 1,000 500 1,500”
docs.github.com

Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited on paid plans

“Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited for all paid plans.”
docs.github.com

Limit windows

Monthly allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over

“Included AI credits do not carry over between months. Unused credits are forfeited, and your allowance resets to the full monthly amount at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month.”
docs.github.com

Past the limit

Additional usage via budget at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD

“GitHub AI Credits draw down your budget at a fixed rate: 1 AI credits = $0.01 USD, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 AI credits.”
docs.github.com

Models

A selection of models

“Copilot Pro $10 USD per month (free for some users) Base: 1,000 A selection of models”
docs.github.com

Copilot Pro+

Price

$39 USDper month

“Copilot Pro+ $39 USD per month. Base: 3,900 Access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Included usage

3,900 base + 3,100 flex = 7,000 AI credits per monthinferred from page layout

“Copilot Pro+ $39 USD 3,900 3,100 7,000”
docs.github.com

Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited on paid plans

“Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited for all paid plans.”
docs.github.com

Limit windows

Monthly allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over

“Included AI credits do not carry over between months. Unused credits are forfeited, and your allowance resets to the full monthly amount at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month.”
docs.github.com

Past the limit

Additional usage via budget at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD

“GitHub AI Credits draw down your budget at a fixed rate: 1 AI credits = $0.01 USD, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 AI credits.”
docs.github.com

Models

Access to premium models

“Copilot Pro+ $39 USD per month. Base: 3,900 Access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Copilot Max

Price

$100 USDper month

“Copilot Max $100 USD per month Base: 10,000 Priority access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Included usage

10,000 base + 10,000 flex = 20,000 AI credits per monthinferred from page layout

“Copilot Max $100 USD 10,000 10,000 20,000”
docs.github.com

Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited on paid plans

“Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited for all paid plans.”
docs.github.com

Limit windows

Monthly allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over

“Included AI credits do not carry over between months. Unused credits are forfeited, and your allowance resets to the full monthly amount at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month.”
docs.github.com

Past the limit

Additional usage via budget at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD

“GitHub AI Credits draw down your budget at a fixed rate: 1 AI credits = $0.01 USD, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 AI credits.”
docs.github.com

Models

Priority access to premium models

“Copilot Max $100 USD per month Base: 10,000 Priority access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Copilot Business

Price

$19 USDper granted seat per month

“Copilot Business $19 USD per granted seat per month Total per user per month: 1,900 Access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Included usage

1,900 GitHub AI Credits per user per monthinferred from page layout

“Plan Price per granted seat per month GitHub AI Credits per user per month Copilot Business $19 USD 1,900”
docs.github.com

Past the limit

Usage beyond the shared pool at $0.01 USD per AI credit

“Each license contributes AI credits to a shared enterprise pool, and usage beyond the pool is charged at $0.01 USD per AI credit.”
docs.github.com

Models

Access to premium models

“Copilot Business $19 USD per granted seat per month Total per user per month: 1,900 Access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Copilot Enterprise

Price

$39 USDper granted seat per month

“Copilot Enterprise $39 USD per granted seat per month Total per user per month: 3,900 Priority access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Included usage

3,900 GitHub AI Credits per user per monthinferred from page layout

“Copilot Enterprise $39 USD 3,900”
docs.github.com

Past the limit

Usage beyond the shared pool at $0.01 USD per AI credit

“Each license contributes AI credits to a shared enterprise pool, and usage beyond the pool is charged at $0.01 USD per AI credit.”
docs.github.com

Models

Priority access to premium models

“Copilot Enterprise $39 USD per granted seat per month Total per user per month: 3,900 Priority access to premium models”
docs.github.com

Free tier, own keys and enterprise terms

Free tier

Copilot Free: limited access to a selection of Copilot features at no cost

“This plan includes limited access to a selection of Copilot features allowing you to try AI-powered coding assistance at no cost.”
docs.github.com
Bring your own key

Not statedNot stated on the plans or billing pages relied on

Enterprise and team notes

Requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud

“Designed for enterprises using GitHub Enterprise Cloud.”
docs.github.com

Not available for GitHub Enterprise Server

“Copilot is not currently available for GitHub Enterprise Server.”
docs.github.com
Other notes

Flex allotment is variable

“The flex allotment is a variable part of your included usage; it is designed to adapt as the economics of AI evolve, including model pricing, new models, and improvements in efficiency.”
docs.github.com

10% discount with auto model selection on paid plans

“If you are on a paid Copilot plan, you qualify for a 10% discount on model costs while using auto model selection in Copilot Chat, Copilot CLI, the GitHub Copilot app, or Copilot cloud agent.”
docs.github.com

FAQ

How much does GitHub Copilot cost?

In GitHub's own terms: Copilot Free: Free. Copilot Student: Free. Copilot Pro: $10 USD per month. Copilot Pro+: $39 USD per month. Copilot Max: $100 USD per month. Copilot Business: $19 USD per granted seat per month. Copilot Enterprise: $39 USD per granted seat per month. As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

What are GitHub Copilot's usage limits?

As worded on GitHub's pages: Copilot Pro: Monthly allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over; Copilot Pro+: Monthly allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over; Copilot Max: Monthly allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over.

Can I use my own API key with GitHub Copilot?

Not stated. Not stated on the plans or billing pages relied on.

Does GitHub Copilot have a free plan?

Copilot Free: limited access to a selection of Copilot features at no cost. Per GitHub: "This plan includes limited access to a selection of Copilot features allowing you to try AI-powered coding assistance at no cost."

What changed at GitHub Copilot (Billed in GitHub AI Credits)?

GitHub Copilot counts usage in GitHub AI Credits, drawn from your budget at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD, and its plans table lists Copilot Max at $100 USD per month. Premium request billing remains only for Copilot Pro and Pro+ subscribers on an existing annual plan who stayed on legacy billing after June 1, 2026.

Sources

Last verified - plans change often. Read from each vendor's own pricing, help and docs pages; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a ranking. Prices are shown in the vendor's own terms, so check the linked source before you buy.

Newsletter

Know when a coding plan changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.